Prevention Meds On Quarantine Time

Canadianeh

Do you guys use meds as prevention during quarantine time for fish, corals, and inverts?

If yes, can you please list them what meds you use? Newbie here :)

Fish:
Corals:
Inverts:

AdInfinitum

Super Active Member
So you use these meds regardless when they appear not sick, correct?
Yes...none of these have any negative side effects. Stronger and more harmful things like copper/cupramine and formalin are only for when there is active illness and even then I avoid them anymore as more modern alternatives usually get the job done.

Poseidon

Distinguished Member
Rob- do you use all three of those in turn, or at once or?
Im going to be buying some fish soon as well, and throw them in quartine with a dose of CP.
It worked wonders for me..

Poseidon

Distinguished Member
What's CP for and how you use it?
Chloroquine Phosphate

its basically a one and done med. dump the powder into the tank in the right amount and leave it.
You'll have to do some of your own research on it, some great 50+ page threads on reef central about it.
And then finding it is kinda hard.

its a strong algae-cide, so corals, ANY algae, inverts will all die. but it will not affect your biological filter/bacteria

AdInfinitum

Super Active Member
Rob- do you use all three of those in turn, or at once or?
Im going to be buying some fish soon as well, and throw them in quartine with a dose of CP.
It worked wonders for me..
I prefer using Prazi and Metro first to de-worm and prevent secondary infections. These are sold as a blend in API general cure if you don't have access to bulk chems.
Then I treat with Chloroquine Phosphate to eliminate all protozoa like Ich, velvet, Brook.....

AdInfinitum

Super Active Member
Chloroquine Phosphate

its basically a one and done med. dump the powder into the tank in the right amount and leave it.
You'll have to do some of your own research on it, some great 50+ page threads on reef central about it.